LibGuides: OER (Open Education Resources), Copyright, &amp; Fair Use: OER

Open Pedagogy

What is Open Pedagogy?

Open pedagogy is the practice of engaging with students as creators of information rather than simply consumers of it. It's a form of experiential learning in which students demonstrate understanding through the act of creation. The products of open pedagogy are student created and openly licensed so that they may live outside of the classroom in a way that has an impact on the greater community.- Introduction to Open Pedagogy website, University of Texas Arlington

Why Open Pedagogy?

Laila Le Guen #whyopen brainstorm

Benefits for Faculty	Benefits for Students
Increases student retention and improves student performance by reducing costs	OER are free to access online and can be purchased in print at a low cost
Promotes academic freedom to modify or add content to your course	OER can be accessed before, during, and after a course
Can support your Scholarship of Teaching & Learning portfolio	OER are free self-study and review materials for brushing up on material

Examples:

OERs include a wide range of materials: assessments, assignments, books, case studies, courses, journals, primary sources, reference materials, simulations, tutorials, tests, and textbooks.

Open Pedagogy Notebook A new resource created by Rajiv Jhangiani and Robin DeRosa, two juggernauts of the Open Education movement, this resource contains case studies of Open Pedagogy in action.
OER-Enabled Pedagogy: Examples from the Real World This page compiles various real-world examples of open pedagogy assignments, including Wikipedia editing, student creating of course resources, and more.

Iowa State University. (n.d.). Open Education. https://open.lib.iastate.edu/open-education/pedagogy

Defining the 'O' in Open

"Open Educational Resources (OER) are teaching, learning, and research resources released under an open license that permits their free use and repurposing by others. OER can be full courses, course materials, lesson plans, open textbooks, learning objects, videos, games, tests, software, or any other tool, material, or technique that supports access to knowledge."

-SPARC (Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition)

Retain – the right to make, own, and control copies of the content (e.g., download, duplicate, store, and manage)
Reuse – the right to use the content in a wide range of ways (e.g., in a class, in a study group, on a website, in a video)
Revise – the right to adapt, adjust, modify, or alter the content itself (e.g., translate the content into another language)
Remix – the right to combine the original or revised content with other open content to create something new (e.g., incorporate the content into a mashup)
Redistribute – the right to share copies of the original content, your revisions, or your remixes with others (e.g., give a copy of the content to a friend)

Finding OER Textbooks

The LibreText Project
The LibreTexts mission is to unite students, faculty and scholars in a cooperative effort to develop an easy-to-use online platform for the construction, customization, and dissemination of open educational resources (OER) to reduce the burdens of unreasonable textbook costs to our students and society.
Milne Open Textbooks
Milne Library Publishing at SUNY Geneseo manages and maintains Milne Open Textbooks, a catalog of open textbooks authored and peer-reviewed by SUNY faculty and staff.
OpenStax
Nonprofit educational initiative based at Rice University. OpenStax publishes free, high-quality, peer-reviewed textbooks that are free online and also available in print for a low cost.
University of British Columbia's Open Textbook Project
Search for quality open textbooks offered in a variety of digital formats; the first step in adopting open educational resources. Search by subject and download them to your computer.
University of Minnesota's Open Textbook Library
Textbooks in the Open Textbook Library are considered open because they are free to use and distribute, and are licensed to be freely adapted or changed with proper attribution.
WikiBooks
A project of the Wikimedia Foundation, this collection of group written textbooks in a variety of sources follows rules similar to Wikipedia. The open-content textbooks collection contains
3,422 books with 94,309 pages that anyone can edit.

Finding OER Assignments

CORA (Community of Online Research Assignments)
It is an open educational resource (OER) for librarians, faculty, and other educators. It is intended to be a collaborative space for adapting and experimenting with research assignments and sharing the success or lessons learned so that others may benefit.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ was launched in 2003 with 300 open access journals. Today, this independent database contains over 16 500 peer-reviewed open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities

Finding OER Materials

(OLI) Open Learning Initiative
OLI provides dozens of college-level courses, and a platform that enables research and experimentation with any aspect of the learning experience.
Digital Commons Network
Free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of colleges and universities worldwide, curated by university librarians and supporting institutions.
DOAB (Directory of Open Access Books
DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.
DPLA (Digital Public Library of America)
Online repository of public domain and openly licensed materials held by libraries, archives, and cultural institutions across the US.
Internet Archive
Nonprofit, online repository of freely available digital resources. Holdings include books, journal articles, websites, audio, and video.
MERLOT
Organized and managed by the California State University system, the MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.
MIT OpenCourseWare
Open Matters is the official blog of MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW), sharing news and information about the project, its global audience and the wider world of open educational resources and online learning. MIT OpenCourseWare makes the materials used in the majority of MIT’s undergraduate and graduate courses—more than 2,400 in all—available on the Web, free of charge.
OASIS
OASIS (Openly Available Sources Integrated Search) is developed at SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library. It is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 114 different sources and contains 440,269 records.
OER Commons
An extensive digital library of open educational resources including materials for all educational levels. Materials include entire courses, primary sources, and scholarship.
Open Course Library
A collection of high quality, free-to-use courses that you can download and use for teaching. All content is stored in Google docs making it easy to access, browse and download.
Project Gutenberg
Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world’s great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired. Thousands of volunteers digitized and diligently proofread the eBooks, for you to enjoy.