LibGuides: Nursing Theorists: Theorist Paper

Paper Description

1. Select a Nursing Theorist from the list provided by the course instructor.

2. Topics to include in your paper:

Background/Credentials of the Nursing Theorist
Overview of the Nursing Theory
Major Theoretical Principles
Strengths of this theory
Weaknesses of this theory
Application to Practice

3. This includes a written paper that should be formatted according to APA 7^th edition guidelines.

4. Make sure to utilize textbooks, scholarly books, and/or evidence-based journal articles for where you are obtaining information. Blogs, online forums (i.e., CurrentNursing.com, NurseLabs.com, Wikipedia, etc.) are NOT appropriate resources. Please contact the library if needing assistance finding appropriate resources.

5. No maximum length to this assignment but this paper should be at least six pages including the cover and reference page.

Nursing Theory Databases

Biography, In Context (GALE) This link opens in a new window
Biography is built on a foundation of more than 600,000 biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study. Providing coverage of the most searched and studied people, Biography includes over 5,000 portal pages on contemporary and historical figures. Reference content is offered alongside videos, audio selections, images, primary sources, and magazine and journal articles from hundreds of major periodicals and newspapers.
Access provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL®Complete is the world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a highly selective digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and primary sources.
MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
The leading full-text database of biomedical and health journals. It is the largest companion to the MEDLINE index, providing full text for thousands of top medical journals with cover-to-cover indexing. It is an essential research tool for doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed® comprises more than 32 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.